AlaaShaker's Weblog

// untitled …

Livemocha! The social way to learn a language!

with 2 comments

Livemocha! is a new web experience where you can learn, practice and share languages across an online community. Livemocha! brings to the web the first online language-learning community, where you enroll in language courses, take you lessons, score points, practice what you’ve learned, receive one-on-one instructions from language tutors and native speakers, connect to the community, make friends, and spread your language by tutoring other people or submitting lessons. I guess that’s far much better than taking a course!!
They have levels for each language. Each level consists of units that in turn contain several lessons. Each lesson has six parts: Learn, Read, Listen, Magnet, Write, and Speak.

  • Learn: First, you understand the lesson ..
  • Read: .. then you practice on ‘reading’ what you’ve learned ..
  • Listen: .. then you practice on ‘hearing’ it ..
  • Magnet: .. after that you start hear the sentence in your language and build up sentences by picking words and putting them together.
  • Write: Now, you should be able to solve a question by writing down the answer ..
  • Speak: .. or by recording it!

A very interesting way to practice a language. Plus, you could drop by the website whenever you’re free; your not stuck with course timings and that’s the best thing about it! I enrolled in a French course and I decided to start from scratch even though I know fair French, just to give it a try. I really like it so far, it’s worth trying!!

Written by AlaaShaker

February 9, 2008 at 6:12 am

Posted in Technology

Tagged with ,

2 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. I recently decided to broaden my horizons and decided to learn a new language; the question is what should I learn? I’ve asked a few friends and they were useless! Everyone was telling me something different, in the end I have decided to attempt to learn Turkish. I work in business and the power Japan and China has keeps growing and growing, so learning a bit of the language could be a massive help in my future career. Does anybody know of any reasonably priced but high-quality language learning software?

    Anonymous

    April 1, 2008 at 10:53 am

  2. I’m afraid I have no idea .. Sry 😀

    AlaaShaker

    April 1, 2008 at 1:02 pm


Leave a Reply

