AlaaShaker's Weblog

// untitled …

Google SketchUp: 3D for Everyone!

with 4 comments

Seven years ago, Google decided to bring a new, free, easy-to-learn software for people to create, modify and share 3D models: Google SketchUp.sketshup_logo

I do have an almost-intermediate experience with 3DSMax, Maya, Mudbox and other modeling and sculpting tools. But let me focus on the easy-to-learn part: I have built this very-silly-looking model, from scratch, in like, 2 minutes!

Google SketchUp!

It’s not the best I can do, I never intended building something nice; it’s just that it was built without checking any documentation, learning any tutorial or watching any video! I only used two tools: the Push/Pull and Offset tools, along with a few basic shapes to bring this model to life – again, from scratch, in just 2 minutes yes, that’s the whole thing!

I believe being that easy-to-learn is a great step towards building great software. This means less time to learn and master the tool, less cost to train the users, and results in being more productive. It happens a lot when you need a quick 3D model to take a couple of snapshots of (let’s say a logo or so) and it’s not worth installing, learning and building it on 3DSMax nor Maya, or even asking a professional designer to do it for you.

I do recommend downloading it for a quick try-out. Check out the Google SketchUp Official Blog for more info, updates and Tips’n’tricks.

Written by AlaaShaker

May 30, 2008 at 6:54 pm

Posted in Art & Design, Technology

Tagged with , ,

4 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Wow, this SU thing is awesome 🙂
    I was using Swift3D because it’s simple and directed to flash users but Sketch Up has beaten it Up :D.

    Swift3D has Extrusion tool but Sketch Up Push/Pull tool makes it even easier to extrude surfaces.

    The only thing I hate about SU that there is no vertices anymore you just have faces and edges.

    No doubt that I will be the next sketch up user.

    Thanks Alaa for revealing this great app,
    Ahmed

    Ahmed Fouad

    September 27, 2008 at 9:58 pm

  2. Glad you liked it. You’re so right btw about the vertices thing ..
    Question: How did you compensate for including the output in Flash? I guess with Swift3D is much easier .. How will you do that with Sketch-Up?

    AlaaShaker

    September 28, 2008 at 12:49 am

  3. Well Alaa you can export your model as 3DS or OBJ then import it through Swift3D.

    I also noticed that SU animation capabilities aren’t so neat, in my opinion you will need to use another application for the animation if you are going to make something more than houses and chairs 🙂

    I’m not a 3d artist but sometimes I need to make simple 3d objects which usually a one frame scene so exporting my work as a PNG and then import it directly to flash or photoshop would be fine with me.

    Ahmed Fouad

    September 28, 2008 at 8:15 am

  4. BTW, 3DS and OBJ exporters aren’t included in the free version of SU. You will need to buy the pro version or wait until someone crack it 😛

    Ahmed Fouad

    September 28, 2008 at 8:20 am


Leave a Reply

