AlaaShaker's Weblog

// untitled …

Migrating to Windows Vista

with 6 comments

imageI’ve spent some time thinking about this step. I’m a fan of Windows XP Professional SP2, and I never thought of switching to Vista. I always said “If Windows Vista will use a constant percentage of my RAM, no matter how I extend it, it will still use a large sum – especially for the effects that I wouldn’t like to reduce. But my XP, nah, it would always stick to the same amount!” LOL

Ubuntu

I’ve had this urge to switch to Linux for a while. I even ordered the new Ubuntu to give it a try. It was awesome, I just couldn’t configure the Internet connection so I proceeded with the format. I will definitely give it another try soon … (will blog about that when I do so)

Vista BusinessA couple of days ago, I received a licensed version Windows Vista Business Edition. I though of test driving that on my wrecked desktop, that was just formatted a day earlier! First, I wanted to know what’s the difference between the different Vista editions aside from the colors. I was really amazed to know that I won’t get the “All-in-on media center functionality”, won’t be able to “Easily make DVDs”, and OMG, I won’t be able to “Have more fun on my PC”!!! That’s hilarious … you really have to read that! I loved the fact that it was blue, I like blue ..

Anyway, I installed it. Drivers thing works great, I didn’t need to update any driver except for the Realtek AC’97 Built-in Sound Card, which is cool – I was really happy not to do any extra driver updates for my ATI Radeon 9550 and to see my Network Adapter connecting peacefully to the Internet. I have installed some of the “usual” software as FireFox, NOD32, eMule, some codecs, VLC, WLMessenger, WLWriter, Paint.NET, etc. (will blog on that, too, soon). Everything seems fine so far, performance is great, and I didn’t need to reduce any effects to keep it up. I have an Intel Pentium 4 CPU 3.00 GHz and 1024 MB RAM – I was a little scared at first, especially for the RAMs, but no, thing are cool ..

I haven’t installed any of the huge software as Microsoft Visual Studio .NET 2008 or Adobe Photoshop CS3 and so on. We’ll see more when I get there .. If things work fine for a few more weeks, I’ll see about getting another one for my laptop πŸ˜€

Written by AlaaShaker

August 11, 2008 at 2:04 am

Posted in Technology

Tagged with , , ,

6 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. You would probably notice the difference after couple of months :D..
    I would tell ya that I got this Ubuntu OS installed on my computer since I bought it… since that time I had to re-install my windows several times (may be 5-6 times LOL)
    + Believe it or not; I had my Ubuntu installed on a 5 GB Partition πŸ˜€ and I usually use it to backup things on my C: drive when windows do it and give this damn BSOD or refuses to boot….

    I’ll tell you one thing, try to install Vista on a computer with < 512mb RAM; or on a partition < 15 GB …:D

    Also you’ll notice how this Aero thing is killing up your memory… I’ll advice you to try Compiz-fusion for the Ubuntu and see how the real effects take place!!

    My self I would prefer XP + Ubuntu + if you are interested in trying OSs you might give MAC OS X Leopard a trial πŸ˜‰ it rocks (Y)

    Shady Ahmed El-Yasaki

    August 14, 2008 at 8:00 am

  2. Guess what, Ubuntu saved me also like 4 times while formatting the PC .. looool
    I didn’t try Vista on such configuration, but to tell u the truth, I thought the effects would kill the PC. Well, in fact, NO they didn’t; I guess my ATI Radeon made a good stand πŸ˜€

    Anyway, I’m sticking to XP Pro SP2 + a sweet Vista transformation pack for my laptop for a while .. but I’m definitely planning on giving Compiz-fusion a try soon isA, I’ll let u know πŸ˜€ I’ve seen Leopard, tried it on a Mac. Man, words won’t help me now loooool

    AlaaShaker

    August 14, 2008 at 9:57 pm

  3. Finally I can see that you switched to vista πŸ˜‰
    Away from the UI & all that stuff, I adore most the “start search” in your start menu.. makes everything as fast as ever.. maybe that’s why I love vista ! πŸ˜€

    Roaa

    August 16, 2008 at 2:07 pm

  4. I haven’t switched completely, actually I’ve just inserted the Ubuntu CD to install it πŸ˜€ looool
    There is an application called ViStart that does pretty much the same functionality for XP πŸ˜›

    AlaaShaker

    August 16, 2008 at 2:14 pm

  5. maybe yes, but not as fast πŸ˜‰

    Roaa

    August 16, 2008 at 8:44 pm

  6. Either ways, I can’t live without Launchy πŸ˜€

    AlaaShaker

    August 17, 2008 at 10:15 pm


Leave a Reply

